Wheelchair basketball teams that have qualified for 2020 Tokyo have known their rivals/ Iran in Group B

IWBF conducted the official draw in a ceremony in which 12 teams in men and 10 in women discovered their rival, reports IRISFD public relations.

Women’s Competition

Group A: Canada, Australia, Great Britain, Germany, Japan

Group B: USA, China, Netherlands, Spain, Algeria

Men’s Competition

Group A: Canada, Korea, Spain, Turkey, Colombia, Japan

Group B: USA, Australia, Great Britain, Germany, Algeria, Iran

Teams will start their matches in the preliminary stage for Tokyo 2020, which is played in a round robin format in which top four teams from each group ascend to the quarter-finals, followed by semi-finals, and final matches.

IWBF President, Ulf Mehrens, said:

“Competing at a Paralympic Games is the pinnacle of a wheelchair basketball players’ career, and this year will be no different for the 264 players that will represent their country in Tokyo. Starting on the 24th August, we will see the 12 best men’s teams and the 10 best women’s teams in the world compete in Japan’s capital.

We are looking forward to the Games, and on behalf of IWBF, I must thank our Japanese hosts, the Tokyo 2020 Local Organizing Committee, and the International Paralympic Committee for all the work they have done and are doing to ensure the games will go ahead with the athlete’s safety being of paramount importance.”


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *